© 2023 WSKG

601 Gates Road
Vestal, NY 13850

217 N Aurora St
Ithaca, NY 14850

FCC Public Files:
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Troy Kotsur, Billie Eilish and Ariana DeBose are invited to join Oscar's Academy

Billie Eilish and Finneas O'Connell, winners of the Oscar for Original Song for No Time to Die, have been invited to join The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
HOLLYWOOD, CALIFORNIA - MARCH 27: Billie Eilish and FINNEAS, winners of the Music (Original Song) award for ‘No Time to Die’, pose in the press room at the 94th Annual Academy Awards at Hollywood and Highland on March 27, 2022 in Hollywood, California. (Photo by David Livingston/Getty Images )

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has extended membership invitations to 397 film artists from 54 different countries. Among those who've been invited, 15 are Oscar winners including Ariana DeBose ( West Side Story), Troy Kotsur ( CODA) and original song winners Billie Eilish and her brother Finneas O'Connell ( No Time To Die).

Oscars are awarded based on votes from members of the Academy.

The Academy has been trying to diversify its membership in recent years. Among this year's pool of invitees, 44% identify as women, 37% are from what the group calls "underrepresented ethnic and racial communities," and 50% are from countries or territories outside of the U.S.

If all 397 accept their invitations, overall Academy membership would be 34% women and 19% from underrepresented groups.

According to the Academy, the "membership process is by sponsorship, not application. Candidates must be sponsored by two Academy members from the branch to which the candidate seeks admission."

Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.